Preferences

To get to the Preferences screen, open the bottom app bar (swipe from the bottom if you have a touch screen, or right-click if not), then click/tap the Settings button. Click/tap "General preferences" on the settings flyout screen. You can set the following preferences:

  1. Include posts directed to people I don't follow in My Stream?

    This defaults to false. If you set it to true, you will see posts from people you follow that they directed at someone you don't follow. This only affects the My Stream type of stream (not global, threads, hashtag streams, etc.)

  2. Show Mentions in My Stream?

    This defaults to false. If you set it to true, My Stream will contain all your Mentions, in addition to the posts normally displayed.

  3. Where should new streams be added?

    If this preference is set to "First column/next column", if you click a username or hashtag in a stream, or choose to view a thread after clicking a post, a new stream will be added in the column just to the right of the one you clicked in. If you add a new stream from the bottom add bar, using the Add Stream, User Search or Hashtag Search functions, it will be added as the very first stream.

    If this preference is set to "Last column", any new streams will be added to the end of the stream list (to the far right).

    This preference defaults to "First column/next column".

  4. Sort all non-thread streams ascending (oldest posts at the top)?

    When this preference is set to No, the newest posts are loaded at the top of the stream column, and when newer ones come in, due to the inherent behavior of the ListView control, they push the older ones down. When you scroll to the bottom of the list, the app automatically gets more (older) posts if there are any. The downside of this from a user experience perspective is that in a stream with a lot of activity, the posts are constantly being pushed down, which can make it hard to read. If this is an issue for you, you can either pause the stream, or change this preference to Yes.

    When this preference is set to Yes, the stream will load with the oldest posts at the top. The stream will continue to get new posts using the refresh rate specified in your preferences. They will now be added to the bottom of the list, and because of how the stream column works, this does not cause anything to scroll. If you want to view posts older than what was loaded initially, there is a button at the top of the column titled Load Older Posts. Click it and it will go get a batch of older posts and add them to the top of the list.

    This preference affects all stream types other than Threads. This preference defaults to No.

  5. What should happen when you select a post on the main screen?

    When this preference is set to "Show detailed post/user window", selecting a post in any stream will cause a Detailed Post View window to be shown. It will show detailed information about the post you selected, including details about the poster (post count, follower count, following count, etc.) You can follow/unfollow and mute/unmute from this view, as well as reply, repost, and view the thread that the post belongs to. If it is a post you made, there will be a Delete button shown so you can delete the post. To close the window, click the back arrow in the upper left corner.

    When this preference is set to "Show the app bar", selecting a post in any stream will cause the bottom app bar to be shown. From the bottom app bar, you can choose to view the detailed view of the post (View Post button), or reply, comment, repost, or star the post. You can also add the stream of the user who created the post, or add a conversation stream for that post or view the thread. If you choose Reply or Comment (or New Post from the bottom app bar when a post is not selected), the post window will be shown at the top of the screen. If the post you selected was one you posted, a Delete button will be shown in the bottom app bar, so you can delete the post.

  6. What should happen when you select a post in thread view?

    When this preference is set to "Show detailed post/user window", selecting a post in any stream will cause a Detailed Post View window to be shown. It will show detailed information about the post you selected, including details about the poster (post count, follower count, following count, etc.) You can follow/unfollow and mute/unmute from this view, as well as reply, repost, and view the thread that the post belongs to. If it is a post you made, there will be a Delete button shown so you can delete the post. To close the window, click the back arrow in the upper left corner.

    When this preference is set to "Show the app bar", selecting a post in any stream will cause the bottom app bar to be shown. From the bottom app bar, you can choose to view the detailed view of the post (View Post button), or reply, comment, repost, or star the post. You can also add the stream of the user who created the post, or add a conversation stream for that post or view the thread. If you choose Reply or Comment (or New Post from the bottom app bar when a post is not selected), the post window will be shown at the top of the screen. If the post you selected was one you posted, a Delete button will be shown in the bottom app bar, so you can delete the post.

  7. Show images attached to a post inline with the post?

    If set to Yes, any photos attached to a post as an annotation will displayed underneath the post text. If multiple photos were attached, they will be stacked vertically. If set to No, you can still see that there are photos attached to that post because a camera icon will be shown in the right corner of the post header. To view the photo(s), open the detailed post view for that post.

  8. Show border around posts in thread view?

    If set to Yes, a white border will be shown around each post when you view a post and its replies in the thread view. This can make it easier to see the level of indentation, particularly when the app is snapped. If set to No, no border will be shown.